Admin No Comments

This September four OASPA Board Members reach the end of their term of service and an election was held to determine who will fill the 4 available seats. OASPA Member organizations were invited to put a name forward to the OASPA Nominations Committee earlier in the year. OASPA is very grateful to all of the candidates who stood for election.

As in previous years, Members were then asked to choose four candidates from the list of nominees and to vote for them in no particular order.  All votes cast were strictly confidential.  The 4 candidates who received the highest number of votes in the election were Caroline Sutton, Catriona MacCallum, Rhodri Jackson and Xenia van Edig.

Board members are elected for a term of 3 years, although according to the association’s By Laws, board members ending their term can be nominated – and are eligible for – immediate re-election, consecutively or otherwise, without limitation. Caroline, Catriona and Rhodri were therefore re-elected to the board and OASPA is pleased to have their continued involvement.

We are also delighted to welcome Dr Xenia van Edig to the OASPA board. Following on from a career in academic research, Xenia has been involved in business development at Copernicus Publications since 2012 and we look forward to the experience that Xenia will bring to the board, as well as to having one of OASPA’s founding organizations represented.

It is of course with regret that we see the end of the term of service for Deborah Kahn (BioMed Central).  OASPA wholeheartedly thanks her for all of her hard work and support during her time on the board.